Lady Buffs claim LSC Volleyball Tournament title

West Texas A&M powered to the 2023 Lone Star Conference Volleyball Tournament title, posting a 3-0 straight set 25-16, 25-16, 25-10 win over Texas A&M-Kingsville in the final match on Saturday.

The LSC Tournament championship is the third consecutive and 18th all-time for the Lady Buffs (28-3) in their 19 trips to the tournament finals.Texas A&M-Kingsville (21-10) was playing in its first LSC Tournament championship final.
With its LSC Tournament title, defending Division II national champion WT is the LSC's automatic qualifier to the NCAA Division II Volleyball Championship. The Division II tournament bracket will be announced online Monday (Nov. 20) at 6:30 p.m. CT at Regional play begins November 30 with teams advancing to the championship December 7-9.
The first two sets in the LSC championship match began with teams trading points before scoring bursts pushed West Texas A&M to identical 25-16 set wins for a 2-0 advantage in the match. In the final set, the Lady Buffs ran out to an 11-1 lead and never looked back, holding TAMUK to four kills and a negative .081 attack. WT finished the match with 40 kills on a .287 attack.
Torrey Miller and Carly Evetts led WT with nine kills with three blocks each. Mille added 10 digs while Evetts topped the WT attack with a .643 percentage. Jackie Alanis, Ayanna Jackson and Madelyn Wallace finished with five kills each in leading the Texas A&M-Kingsville offense.
Following completion of the tournament, the LSC announced the members of the 2023 All-Tournament Team as named by each coach. West Texas A&M outside hitter Torrey Miller was named Most Valuable Player for a third time (2023, ’22, ’21) and earned All-Tournament citation in each of her four seasons.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post