Breaking News

Buffs claim third LSC Tournament title

The WTAMU Buffs kept their season alive on Sunday afternoon as Tournament MVP Keone Givens led off the bottom of the first inning with a homerun as WT rolled past the Cameron Aggies to claim their third Lone Star Conference Tournament title in the last four seasons with a 11-1 victory at Wilder Park on Mother's Day.

The Buffs claim the league's automatic bid into the NCAA Division II Baseball Postseason as the 54-team field will be announced via an online selection show starting tonight at 9 p.m. CT on

The Buffs wasted little time getting on the board as Keone Givens sat on a fastball on the second pitch of the frame for a solo bomb to left center for the 1-0 lead. The Aggies responded with a long ball of their own in the top of the second inning as Hayden Jaco connected on a solo shot down the left field line to tie the game at 1-1.

WT retook the lead in the top of the second inning as Givens scored from third on an errant throw back to the mound with two outs to make it 2-1. The Buffs added to their lead in the third as Darius Carter singled to left center to score Nick Guaragna with one out followed by another errant throw by the Aggies that scored Jaxxon Fagg to make it 4-1.

The Aggies knocked Zach Dixon from the game in the top of the sixth with a pair of hits with no outs as Darin Cook entered from the bullpen, the senior got the first out on a sac bunt followed by a strikeout and a Cade Engle diving grab at the warning track to keep it 4-1.

The Buffs added to their lead in the sixth as Jake Pederson singled to right to score Justice Nakagawa followed by a Guaragna single to center to score Givens and make it 6-1 as CU made a move to the bullpen with the bases loaded and no outs, Christian Loya drew an RBI walk with one out before Carter and Engle doubled home a pair of runs each to break the game open at 11-1.

Dixon picked up the win (6-1) for the Buffs, allowing one run on seven hits with one walk and seven strikeouts in his five innings of work while Darin Cook, Austin Gehle and Dominic Yearego closed out the game for the win.

No comments