Four Price files to run for Texas House speaker

On Thursday, State Rep. Four Price, R-Amarillo, officially joined the race to be the next speaker of the Texas House.

“Today, I announce my candidacy for Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives. Having successfully worked for the last four sessions with my colleagues from across our state to pass major legislation and focus on issues of importance to all Texans, I am eager to seek this leadership position in the Texas House of Representatives. Looking towards the future, I truly believe the Texas House will play a leading role in making the decisions that keep Texas on the path to prosperity.

"The Texas House is made up of dedicated and talented individuals of all experience levels, and my goal is to utilize that talent to tackle the big issues facing our state – reforming our property tax system, fighting for first-rate public schools, addressing our growing infrastructure needs, and building a healthcare system that works for the people of Texas.

"I believe it’s critical that all members not only have the ability to represent the unique needs of their respective districts, but that they also have the opportunity – regardless of tenure – to step into a leadership role and use their talents to move our state forward.

"My vision for the Texas House is shaped by my absolute confidence in every single man and woman who has been elected to serve. I intend to visit with each member in the coming months to listen to their ideas for a stronger Texas.

"I appreciate the support of my family and colleagues who have encouraged me to take this step, and I congratulate the members who have already announced their candidacy. Ultimately, we will all benefit from the ideas and visions that are shared throughout this process," Price said.

Price serves as the chairman of the House Public Health, Health & Human Services Transition Oversight and Opioids and Substance Abuse Select Committees. He is also a member of the natural resources and general investigating and ethics committees.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.