State Department confirms Trump's travel ban fully implemented

The U.S. State Department confirmed on Friday that it has fully implemented President Donald Trump's latest travel ban, as the Supreme Court’s December 4, 2017 orders permit. The State Department began implementing the full presidential order at the opening of business (local time) at U.S. embassies and consulates overseas today, Friday, December 8, 2017.

"National security is our top priority in visa operations. Our embassies and consulates around the world are fully implementing Presidential Proclamation 9645 to protect the American people, now that U.S. Supreme Court orders permit us to do that and based on extensive guidance provided to them by the Department.

"All countries share responsibility to prevent terrorist attacks, transnational crime, and immigration fraud," the State Department said in a press release.

President Trump's latest proclamation directed the Departments of State and Homeland Security to restrict the entry of nationals of Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Somalia, Venezuela, and Yemen in order to protect the security and welfare of the United States.

These restrictions follow an extensive review and engagement with countries around the world involving an assessment of whether countries met certain information sharing criteria. Restrictions are tailored to each country, reflecting the unique factors in place for each.

No visas will be revoked under the proclamation, and the restrictions are not intended to be permanent. The restrictions are conditional and may be lifted as countries work with the U.S. government to ensure the safety of Americans.

Most countries in the world now meet the new requirements, which is an important element of ensuring our security.

The entry restrictions in the proclamation do not apply to certain categories of individuals, including those who were inside the United States or who had a valid visa on the effective date of the proclamation, even after their visa expires or they leave the United States.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.